Ryder’s Baby Shower

I walked into the backyard last night to a wonderful surprise!

Fotor0822110222

I was extremely happy to see that the baby shower party favors we gave to our guest served their purpose. We wanted to give them something that would be a reminder of Ryder and the joy that day meant for us. We ended up giving out the cutest little elephant shaped seed paper in a coconut plant liner with planting instructions all tied up in beautiful blue ribbon.

IMG_8036

I took what leftovers we had from the shower and planted them in our yard. What grew was better than I ever could have imagined! One year later out popped an amazing surprise, forget-me-nots. A bittersweet reminder of the day our family and friends came to meet the newest member of our family and how fast the time goes. No longer that little baby everyone snuggled and gushed over at his shower, today he is a rambunctious one year old on a mission to pick all those beautiful blue blossoms that for an instance brought me back to a time that feels like just a day ago and a lifetime ago all at once.

111

A rush of sadness came over me as I realized how quickly we do forget the babies our children once were as they become the little people we know and love. This tiny reminder in my garden will always be there to tell me to forget-me-not mommy as I was, I will always be your baby. Remember me on that day small and helpless taking up a spot in your heart you didn’t know was empty until you met me. Love me now for the amazing little man I’ve become. I hope they come back every year, a reminder of a beautiful time I never want to forget.

Leave a Reply

